I’M BACK

by Xenia Makridou

I guess I owe an apology, or at least a reason, for being away for such a long time. I wouldn’t say it was a choice, no. I’d put it this way: I was taking a break – unintentionally. Have you ever felt like running away from everything and everyone? Well, it was kind of like that, except that I didn’t seek it – it just happened. 

In any case, I’m back now! I’ll be posting about a few of the things I did while away from my blog in a few days. I’m currently enjoying a beautiful little excursion in Polis, Cyprus, at Anassa hotel. I have just arrived, and I have already taken several pictures of the place, which I will be posting soon enough – hopefully. 

For now, I can only try to help you imagine it through description. Today, I read this quote: “Imagination is the highest kite one can fly”, by Lauren Bacall, in Vogue. So, let your imagination turn into a kite, and let it fly high into the sky, as I’ll try to describe this place to you. I’m currently sitting at the hotel’s bar, in an open terrace underneath a sky as filled with stars, as a diamond bracelet. The day today has been incredibly hot, but right now, I can say it’s a little chilly – just perfect. The lighting is reduced to only a few little lamps scattered around the carefully placed tables – so dark, so peaceful. There’s a singer who sings those slow classics you’d expect to find in every kind of luxury hotel. She’s great. I can’t even see her from where I sit, but why should that matter? Nights like these I thank God for being such a lucky girl, to be able to experience what I do, to see what I see, to hear what I hear, to smell what I smell… 

I have basically spent this afternoon familiarizing myself with the hotel. My parents went to the beach, so I had time to myself – excellent. I went around, took pictures, had some fresh orange juice, read half the latest issue of Vogue, visited the hotel’s shop, and just hang around enjoying the peace this place emits.  

Even if I sat here all night trying to describe this place, I wouldn’t be able to transfer all of its energy to you. And since a picture is equal to a thousand words, wait for those beautiful pictures to come. 

