TIME

by Xenia Makridou

This happened a couple weeks ago, but it’s such a strange and new concept to me, that I keep reminding myself of it every now and then. It’s just one of those things that kind of like ‘open your eyes’ to different opinions and perspectives, you know? So, what happened was, I was in Nicosia two weekends ago, at my little cousins’ house, and I don’t remember exactly, but I think I asked my cousin something, and the concept of time came up.

I’m not sure, but an educated guess would be that I asked her about when she does a specific thing, whether that’s going to bed, going to an afternoon lesson, whatever. Even though I don’t remember the exact circumstances of my question, I definitely remember her answer – lucid and clear. She told me that she’d never check the time. Can you imagine? I probably check the time a billion times everyday. I can’t just not know what time it is. That would drive me crazy – just the thought of it drives me crazy. What? How can one do that? That was my response.

But, I mean… Just think about it for a second… That’s perfect, isn’t it? Not having to rely on time for the sake of it. Not having to rely on the rules and laws of society, in fact. Isn’t that a remarkable thing to do? Isn’t it bizarre? Or, am I the only one finding this particularly interesting? (haha).

Just wanted to share. ;p

