THE CYPRUS PROBLEM

by Xenia Makridou

I just came back from Neapolis, the university of Paphos, where Mehmet Ali Talat – former president of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus – was invited to talk about the ‘Cyprus Problem’ and its solution. I am very shocked and incredibly annoyed.

First, ELAM (the National Popular Front) was outside the building protesting against the unification of Cyprus. Members even found their way inside the building, despite the police being present. They were constantly yelling their slogans, which made it almost impossible for people to hear what Mr. Talat was saying.

We found ourselves – my mom and I – in a room other than the main one, where Mr. Talat was. This was because there were way too many people for the main room to fit. Naturally, there was a live recording set up. All I have to say is that if in 2014, we aren’t able to synchronize picture with sound, then we’re doing badly – very badly. As if this wasn’t enough, there were so many people in the building – so many indifferent people. Without meaning to offend or criticize anybody, I knew that these people didn’t care a single bit of what was being said, as they were constantly talking and never paying attention. So disrespectful. So uncivilized. There were three women behind me who didn’t cease to talk about the most random things. I was on the verge of punching them, I swear. I don’t even know how I managed to control myself.

In any case, the whole thing was a disaster. The initiative was all there, but the way the event was organized and carried out was absolutely ridiculous. To cut the long story short, we left early. I’d just like to leave you with a thought. If this is the way they’re expecting to arrive at the solution, then I can foresee problems – a lot of problems.

