Getting Back On Track

by Xenia Makridou

It’s been a long, long time, huh? Let’s just say that I was taking a little big break from blogging. It’s been a month and a half, really. But even during the summer, I know I haven’t been blogging much.  This doesn’t mean that I haven’t been thinking about the blog, though. I love being on here, don’t get me wrong. It’s just sometimes things get in the way. Anyway, the main thing is that I’m back and ready to continue with my so-called “life-writing”.

Firstly, I’d like to thank all of you who stayed with me all this time, despite me being fairly inactive. Secondly, I’d like to invite you guys, and new followers too, to join me as I go through this upcoming school year – the last year of school, really – and for as long as my blogging love lasts. Because I’d like to be honest with you. I remember how blogging came easy last year when I first began. As time goes by, though, and as we grow up, other things become more important, and it’s not that easy any more… Responsibilities, changes and life itself are all obstacles that cause us to stay behind when it comes to things we love. It’s hard enough to keep up with blogging, which is merely a hobby, let alone keep up with life in its own respect!

I wanted this first post to be about Tomorrowland, because I promised an incredible post about it a long time ago, but today things went down, and I think they’d be worth noting down. I’m currently working on the Tomorrowland post though, so it’s on the way, don’t worry. So, what did happen today that could be more important than Tomorrowland? Relationships happened. I’m sure I’ve talked about this before, probably more than once, yet it’s a topic that comes up again and again, especially during the teenage years.

My friend called me up today crying. She had broken up. She asked me why people have relationships when they suck so bad after everything’s said and done. My best bet would be that’s because we’re human and we have feelings. One could also say, though, that this is because we’re stupid, dependent, and afraid of being forever alone. Sounds quite possible, no? I’ve never been a fan of relationships. I’ve enjoyed my single-ness for a long, long time. But there’s someone for each of us out there. Isn’t that what they say?

I know, break-ups suck. But there’s nothing you can do, and there’s nothing you should do. Moving on; letting time do its magic tricks and heal your wounds. That’s what you’ve got to do. Because pain does go away, and memories do fade. And people do change.

Life is full of ups and downs, and once you think you’ve found the balance, oh God, you’re back to the beginning again, trying to figure out what the hell is going on. But that’s the trick. Having it all figured out is not the key. Psychology cannot be used to answer everything, and in fact, not everything has an answer. But everything has its reason. Whether you know this or not, though, is not important. Accept the fact and move on. When it’s over, it’s over and there’s no turning back. Yes, you’re gonna feel like **** for the first couple days, but guess what? It’ll be better in no time. And a year from now, things are gonna be so different, you won’t even remember the feeling, or the face. Time, patience, and effort. Give it timebe patient, and try to be happy. If you keep going back, happiness won’t come to you. And that’s for sure.

Stay strong and fight. We’re only 18. What do we know of life? It’s only trying to teach you, after all. It’s just a little crude in its ways, it doesn’t seem to have gotten the hang of it yet, but it’s life, and it’s the best teacher you could have ever had. ❤

